About Us

The Standards in Public Office Commission (Standards Commission) is an independent body. There are six members of the Standards Commission. It is chaired by a former Judge of the High Court, Mr Justice Daniel O'Keeffe.

The Standards Commission has a supervisory role under:

  • The Ethics in Public Office Act 1995, as amended by the Standards in Public Office Act 2001, (the Ethics Acts).
  • The Electoral Act 1997, as amended, (the Electoral Acts)
  • The Oireachtas (Ministerial and Parliamentary Offices) (Amendment) Act 2014, (the Parliamentary Activities Allowance Act)

Further details are available in this section of the website concerning: