Press Release - Presidential Election Guidelines 2018

Standards Commission publishes Presidential Election Guidelines

The Standards in Public Office Commission has today published the final Guidelines for the Presidential Election to be held on 26 October 2018. The Guidelines cover the main requirements of the Electoral Act relating to:

·         political donations;

·         election spending; and

·         reimbursement of election expenses to qualified candidates.

Candidates and their election agents are encouraged to contact the Standards in Public Office Commission directly should they have any queries in relation to their statutory obligations.

To view a copy of the Guidelines, visit the website

For further information, please contact:

Rosanne Meehan, Press Officer

Standards in Public Office Commission
18 Lower Leeson Street
Dublin 2

Telephone: 01 - 6395666



The Standards Commission is the independent body charged with oversight of the Ethics in Public Office Acts (1995 and 2001), the Electoral Act 1997 (as amended) and the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015.

The members of the Standards Commission are:

·         Justice Daniel O'Keeffe, Chairperson;

·         Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General;

·         Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman;

·         Peter Finnegan, Clerk of Dáil Éireann;

·         Martin Groves, Clerk of Seanad Éireann; and

·         Jim O'Keeffe, former TD.