Press Release - Investigation Report by the Standards in Public Office Commission

The Commission has today published two separate reports as a result of investigations into alleged contraventions of the Ethics in Public Office Act 1995 and 2001 and part 15 of the Local Government Act 2001. The reports follow investigation hearings into the conduct of  Councillor Joe Queenan, Sligo County Council and Councillor John O’Donnell, Donegal County Council, which were conducted on 10 September 2018 and 11 September 2018, respectively.

The Commission finds against Councillor Queenan in respect of three of the four alleged contraventions. The Commission also finds against Councillor O’Donnell in respect of all three of the alleged contraventions.

In accordance with the requirements of section 24 of the Ethics Act and section 180 of the Local Government Act 2001, the Commission has furnished copies of its reports to both Councillors, the Cathaoirleach and Chief Executive of each Council and the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform.

The investigation reports, together with full details of the Commission’s findings and determinations are available here:


The Standards in Public Office Commission is an independent body responsible for overseeing the Ethics in Public Office Act 1995, the Standards in Public Office Act 2001, the Electoral Act 1997 (as amended), the Oireachtas (Ministerial and Parliamentary Activities) (Amendment) Act 2014, and the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015.

The Standards Commission was created by the Standards in Public Office Act 2001. It has six members and is chaired by a former judge of the High Court. The current chair is Mr Justice Daniel O’Keeffe. Other members are: Seamus McCarthy, Comptroller and Auditor General; Peter Tyndall, Ombudsman; Peter Finnegan, Clerk of Dáil Éireann; Martin Groves, Clerk of Seanad Éireann, and Jim O’Keeffe, former member of Dáil Éireann.

For more information, or to view the reports, visit

Press Officer
Telephone: (01) 6395666



Twitter: @SIPOCIreland